International Society of Political Psychology

David O. Sears Book Award

The David O. Sears Book Award is given for the best book published in the field of the political psychology of mass politics, including political behavior, political values, political identities, and political movements, during the previous calendar year. Befitting the far-reaching contributions to scholarship of David Sears, the award winning work should be one that demonstrates the highest quality of thought and makes a major substantive contribution to the field of political psychology.

The award winner will be determined by an international and interdisciplinary committee. As judged by the award committee, the book should increase substantially our understanding of an issue (or issues) that is central to the concerns of mass politics and the world in which we live.

Published books carrying a 2019 copyright may be nominated for the award by individuals or publishers.

This is the ninth year the award will be given, so we encourage you to make nominations. Self-nominations are also welcome.

The award recipient(s) will be strongly encouraged to attend the Annual Meeting and Awards Reception. Send nominations via e-mail to the award committee chair.

2020 Award Committee Chair:

Richard Lau (Chair)
Rutgers University, USA
Other Committee Members:
Christopher Johnston (Duke University)
John Jost (New York University)
Linda Tropp (University of Massachsetts - Amherst)

THE NOMINATION PROCESS FOR 2020 IS NOW CLOSED. Please contact the Chair for submission information. The deadline for nominations was 15 December 2019.

Winners will be notified by early March 2020.

First awarded in 2012.

Past Winners

  • 2019 Lauren Davenport (Politics beyond Black and White: Biracial Identity and Attitudes in America)
  • 2018 Christopher Johnston, Howard Lavine, and Christopher Federico (Open Versus Closed: Personality, Identity, and the Politics of Redistribution)
  • 2017 Christopher H. Achen and Larry M. Bartels (Democracy for Realists: Why Elections Do Not Produce Responsive Government)
  • 2016 Diana C. Mutz (In-Your-Face Politics: The Consequences of Uncivil Media)
  • 2015 Christopher F. Karpowitz & Tali Mendelberg (The Silent Sex: Gender, Deliberation and Institutions)
  • 2014 Deborah Jordan Brooks (He Runs, She Runs: Why Gender Stereotypes Do Not Harm Women Candidates)
  • 2013 Howard Lavine, Christopher Johnston & Marco Steenbergen (The Ambivalent Partisan: How Critical Loyalty Promotes Democracy)
  • 2012 Clark McCauley and Sophia Moskalenko (Friction: How Radicalization Happens to Them and Us)
  • Return to Awards home

indicates an external link