Call for ISPP 2019 Award Nominations

Laswell and Sanford Awards 2019

The International Society of Political Psychology is calling for nominations for these two prestigious awards, which have been made by the Society since 1979 (see http://www.ispp.org/awards/).

- The Lasswell award is given for distinguished contributions in the field of political psychology.
- The Sanford award is given to someone who is 1) engaged in the practical application of political psychological principles, and/or 2) creating knowledge that is accessible and used by practitioners to make a positive difference.

The awards committee is looking to create a diverse pool of nominees. Please send nominations to Kevin Durrheim (durrheim@ukzn.ac.za). All nominations must include case (no longer than 3 pages) explaining why she/he deserves the award and a CV of the nominee. Please send nominations by 30 November 2018.

Knutson Award 2019

The International Society of Political Psychology is calling for nominations for this award recognizing members who have provided long-standing service to the society (see http://www.ispp.org/awards/).

The awards committee is looking to create a diverse pool of nominees. Please send nominations to Kevin Durrheim (<u>durrheim@ukzn.ac.za</u>). All nominations must include case (no longer than 3 pages) explaining why she/he deserves the award. Please send nominations by 15 January 2019.

Alexander George Book Award

The Alexander George Book Award is given for the best book published in the field of political psychology during the previous calendar year.

The awards committee is looking to create a diverse pool of nominees. Please contact the ISPP Central Office (<u>info@ispp.org</u>) for the mailing addresses of the awards committee members to send copies of nominated books. Please submit nominations by 15 December 2018.

David O. Sears Book Award

The David O. Sears Book Award is given for the best book published in the field of political psychology of mass politics, including political behavior, political values, political identities, and political movements during the previous calendar year.

The awards committee is looking to create a diverse pool of nominees. Please contact the ISPP Central Office (<u>info@ispp.org</u>) for the mailing addresses of the awards committee members to send copies of nominated books. Please submit nominations by 15 December 2018.

Erik Erikson Early Career Award

This award recognizes and celebrates exceptional achievement and is awarded to an individual who is a member of ISPP and within a decade of receiving their PhD.

The awards committee is looking to create a diverse pool of nominees. Please send nominations to Cindy Kam (cindy.d.kam@vanderbilt.edu). All nominations must include case (no longer than 3 pages) explaining why she/he deserves the award and a CV of the nominee. Please send nominations by 15 January 2019.

Best Dissertation Award

All Ph.D. dissertations within the field of political psychology are eligible for consideration, regardless of home discipline. Dissertations should represent an independent piece of research that is the sole work of the author and gains the highest degree at the author's university.

Submissions are for dissertations completed and successfully defended between Jan. 1 and Dec. 31 of the prior calendar year. **Nominees must be current ISPP members.**

Nominations should be submitted electronically and must include a one-page abstract (300 word), a 10-page (3,000 word) summary of the dissertation, and a letter of recommendation from the thesis adviser or committee member, all in English.

The awards committee is looking to create a diverse pool of nominees. Please send nominations to Julie Wronski (jwronski@olemiss.edu). Please send nominations by 15 January 2019.

Roberta Sigel Early Career Scholar Paper Award

There are two prizes with slightly different criteria to accommodate the authorship and publication practices in the various disciplines represented in ISPP:

The **first** award will be given to the best paper (or paper accepted as poster) written by Early Career Scholars only. In the case of multiple authors, all co-authors must be Early Career Scholars. The **second** award will be conferred to the best paper (or paper accepted as poster) with an Early Career Scholar first author. This award allows, but does not require, non-Early Career Scholar co-authors.

Only papers (or papers accepted as posters) by current (dues paid for this year) ISPP members are eligible for consideration.

The awards committee is looking to create a diverse pool of nominees. Please send nominations to Scott Clifford (scifford@uh.edu). Please send nominations by 15 January 2019.