International Society of Political Psychology

Erik Erikson Early Career Award

The Erikson Award is named for Erik Erikson, the “Father of Psychosocial Development.” The Award recognizes and celebrates exceptional achievement and is awarded to an individual who is a member of ISPP and within a decade of receiving their Ph.D.

First awarded in 1982, the list of recipients of the Erikson Award is a compendium of those who are among the most prominent leaders in political psychology today.

You are encouraged to nominate candidates for this annual award who have demonstrated excellence and creativity in the field of political psychology.

The award recipient will be strongly encouraged to attend the Annual Meeting and Awards Reception. Send nominations via post or e-mail to the award committee chair.

2020 Award Committee:

Daphna Canetti (Chair)
University of Haifa
Other Committee Members:
Chris Sibley (University of Auckland)
Christopher F. Karpowitz (Brigham Young Univeristy)

THE NOMINATION PROCESS FOR 2020 IS NOW CLOSED. Please send submissions to the Chair. The deadline for nominations was 15 January 2020.

Winners will be notified by early March 2020.

Current Winner

Erik Erikson Award for Early Career Achievement
Joshua David Kertzer, Harvard University

The pool of nominees we considered this year included several exceptionally impressive scholars. Even in such notable company, this year’s nominee – Josh Kertzer, stood out and represented our unanimous choice. He is a once-in-a-generation scholar, and we are delighted to be able to honor him and his work.

To state my bottom line up front, Josh is an unusually gifted scholar by any standards. His work and grasp of the literature is cutting edge and he is clearly a star. The simple metrics of Josh’s work make a compelling case. His book, Resolve in International Politics, was published by Princeton University Press and received ISPP’s Alexander George Award. It is a major contribution to the literature in both IR and political psychology, combining rich theory, creative argument, and sophisticated quantitative methods at multiple levels of analysis to address an issue of contemporary concern. One description called it a “tour de force” and “simply brilliant, producing a major innovation in the conceptual issue of resolve,” which had attracted a great deal of attention but little progress prior to Josh’s efforts. This award winning book built on the four national and international awards the dissertation version of this research received. More generally, he publishes regularly in top IR and general political science journals, with a total of 19 peer-reviewed articles already.

Josh’s work is impressive for a host of reasons, but this award is especially appropriate because he has brought the insights and concerns of political psychology to the attention of his entire subfield. As his nomination letter writers put it, “He is at the forefront of a renaissance in the application of psychological insights to international relations.”

Even with all this impressive research productivity, Josh also takes time to serve the discipline, reading and commenting thoughtfully on the work of others, reviewing regularly, and organizing helpful panels and other opportunities at major conferences and other venues. We expect he will be a leading voice in both IR and political psychology for many years to come, and we cannot wait to see the excellent work and collaborative projects he produces next.

Past Winners

  • 2019 Pazit Ben-Nun Bloom and Ryan Enos
  • 2018 Shose Kessi and Johanna Vollhardt
  • 2017 Michael Bang Petersen
  • 2016 Matt Levendusky and Martijn van Zomeren
  • 2015 Christopher F. Karpowitz and Rune Slothuus
  • 2014 Chris Sibley
  • 2013 Daphna Canetti and Phillip Hammack
  • 2012 Eran Halperin and Peter Hatemi
  • 2011 Cindy Kam
  • 2010 Jennifer Jerit and Tom Rudolph
  • 2009 Not Awarded
  • 2008 Linda Tropp
  • 2007 Christopher Federico
  • 2006 Jamie Druckman
  • 2005 Nicholas Valentino
  • 2004 John Jost and Howard Lavine
  • 2003 Mark Schafer
  • 2002 Thomas Nelson and Tali Mendelberg
  • 2001 Barbara Farnham
  • 2000 Rose McDermott
  • 1999 Wendy Rahn
  • 1998 Not Awarded
  • 1997 Paul t'Hart
  • 1996 Yuen Foon Khong
  • 1995 Jon A. Krosnick
  • 1994 Kathleen M. McGraw
  • 1993 Ofer Feldman
  • 1992 Peter Carnevale
  • 1991 Deborah Larson
  • 1990 Ruth Linn
  • 1989 Shawn W. Rosenberg
  • 1988 Steven Kull
  • 1987 Philip E. Tetlock
  • 1986 Virginia Sapiro
  • 1985 James S. Fishkin
  • 1984 Andrew B. Schmookler
  • 1983 Michael G. Billig
  • 1982 Gerda Lederer

Return to Awards home

indicates an external link